Birthday Letter

Posted: December 28, 2013 in Erotic Series
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Dima is back, she’s never far away screaming in my ears to shut the hell up and draw.

I recently started doing in addition to the Polaroid sized watercolors, large size Polaroids! Same technique but larger scale. Here is the large Polaroid #003 which is about 11 by 17″. Larger format allows me to add more details to the composition, and I was pretty happy how that one came out. Still undecided on the title. Between “Morning Blues” and “Birthday Letter”.

I keep an original blue print of all my drawings. This way if I mess up the watercolor I can always go back to the original pencil drawing, retrace it, and paint it again. It’s interesting how colored version always look different from the pencil draft. Not only because it has colors, rendering process tend to lose details or fine lines from pencil.. I guess my painting needs improvement.

Morning Blues Pencil Stage Morning Blues

 

I’m going to distort a quote from Henry Miller here but bare with me; to really love someone is to be ready to lose yourself in another person, that thought is frightening to the common man/woman, but only until we completely lose ourselves, can we find out who we really are.

I found myself long ago and I had time to drown in my own tears many, many times. So I’m getting to a point where I just do not give a fuck anymore (excuse my French).  And all I know is I’ll never regret to not have lived enough, loved enough, or invest enough heart in my life and in my lovers. That’s more than most people can say.

As Ted Hughes said in a letter he once wrote; The only calibration that counts is how much heart people invest, how much they ignore their fears of being hurt or caught out or humiliated. And the only thing people regret is that they didn’t live boldly enough, that they didn’t invest enough heart, didn’t love enough. Nothing else really counts at all.

I’ll end with another quote of my favorite  poem by Ted Hughes, extract from Birthday Letter;

“The dreamer in her
Had fallen in love with me and she did not know it.
That moment the dreamer in me
Fell in love with her and I knew it”

~ till next time

Leave a Reply

